


OBJECTIVE

In Rise of Cthulhu you play as the leader of a cultist faction wishing to awaken Cthulhu and the other Old Ones
to rule this world. But a competing faction races against you to be the first to awaken these chaotic masters.

By playing various numbered and colored Cultist cards, you must control the prime Lovecraftian locations —
Arkham, Dunwich, Innsmouth and Kingsport — in an effort to awaken an Old One.

The faction that maintains the most influence on a location will gain favor when an Old One arises, while the
losing faction risks the destruction of their sanity and souls.




CARD NUMBER

COMPONENTS

DARK HUNTER
TOKEN

GAMEPLAY TEXT

LOCATION SYMBOLS




SETTING-UP THE GAME

First, place the four Location cards in the middle of the table, between the two players. Each Location card
should be arranged vertically at this time (this represents a neutral position).

Next, shuffle the 50 Cultist cards and deal 5 out to each player. Once this is done, flip over the top Cultist card
so it is face up and set it next to the rest of the Cultist Deck. This face up card will be the starting card in the Valley
for the game. The Valley is where Cultist cards may be played to move the Dark Hunter.

Then separate the remaining Cultist Deck into 3 equal piles.
Shuffle the Old One cards separately and select 3 at random and
place one face down in the middle of each of the 3 piles of Cultist
cards. Once this is done, stack the three piles of Cultist cards
together and this becomes the starting Cultist Deck. Place the
other unused Old One cards in the box without looking at them.
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How TO PLAY

On your turn you must choose
from the following actions:

e Draw 2 cards, OR
 Play 2 cards, OR
e Draw 1 card and play 1 card

If a player chooses to draw a card
and play a card, this can be done in
either order (draw first, then play,
or play first, then draw). Cards can
be drawn from Valley or the Cultist
Deck.

If you choose to play a card, it

Unless a Monster or Artifact card
allows it, Cultist cards may not be
played on Locations that already
have an Old One on it. All Cultist
cards in play at a Location should
be visible to both players.

The player with the most total
points on a given Location turns
the Location to face them, marking
that Location as being influenced by
their Cultists. As the values change
during gameplay, Locations will
shift their influence and facing from
player to player.
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DARK HUNTER

If a card is played on the Valley it
must either be a higher value Cultist
card that what is currently face up
in the Valley OR the same color as
that card. When a card is played on
the Valley, the player that played it
MUST move the Dark Hunter token
to one of the Location cards that
does not already have an Old One
on it.

When the Dark Hunter appears
at that Location, the highest value
- Cultist card is destroyed (i

If an Old One awakens on a
Location that the Dark Hunter is
on, return the Dark Hunter token to
the space between the Cultist Deck
and the Valley.

OLD ONES

At some point in the game, an
0Old One card will be drawn from
the Cultist Deck and awaken at a
Location. Each Old One card has a
series of letters on the right hand
side of it; these correspond to each
of the 4 Locations (A for Arkham, D

and

has an Old One on it, the “new”
Old One goes to the next Location
down the line until a free Location
is located.

The player currently influencing
that Location (i.e. the player that
has the Location facing him or her)
will reap the benefits of the Old
One’s power text printed on the
card. Once the Old One’s power has
been resolved, the player who drew
the Old One draws another card
from the Cultist Deck.




SET ABILITIES

Players may try and create certain
combinations of Cultist
throughout play to earn special
rewards. These combinations are
called “Set Abilities”.

cards

If a player plays a card that grants
them three of the same colored
Cultist card at a Location, they may
choose to move the Dark Hunter
token back between the Cultist Deck
and the Valley.

If a player pIays a card that grants

purposes of a player’s turn. Unless
it states otherwise on the card,
Monster cards are discarded as
soon as they are played.

If a player plays a card that
grants them three Cultist cards
that all share the same color AND
are in order (ex. 2-3-4 or 8-9-10)
at a Location, they MUST draw an
Artifact card if one is available. Like
Monster cards, Artifact cards sit in
a player’s hand and do not count
as a “played card” for purposes
of a player’s turn. Unless it states
otherwise on the card Artifact cards

How 10 WIN

When three Old Ones have
awakened (i.e. are in play at
Locations), the game ends and the
person with the most Locations
facing them is the winner. If there
is a tie for the number of Locations
facing the players, or if Azathoth
has been awakened, the player who
has the most total points of cards in
play is the winner instead.

Ties for points are decided in
the following order: most Artifacts
acqulred

then most Monsters




FAQ

Q: If there are multiple copies of the
highest Cultist card in play when the Dark
Hunter appears at a Location, are all of them
destroyed?

A: No. Only 1 card is destroyed. So, for example, if
there are two 7s in play on a player’s side at a Location
where the Dark Hunter appears, and 7 is the highest
card in play there, only one 7 would be destroyed.

Q: IfI already have three of a color or number
in play and I play another of that same color
or number, do I trigger the Set Ability again?

A: Yes.

Q: If the Valley has no cards in it, can I still
play a card on it?

A: Yes. In this case, any color or number card can be
played there.

Q: 'If the Monster or Artifact deck runs out of
cards what happens?

A: You may no longer draw any Monster or Artifact
cards.

Q: If I choose to draw 1 card and play 1 card,
can I choose what order to take those actions in?

A:Yes, you can do them in either order and can even
choose to draw another or play another card after you’ve
done the first action.
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